Day 5

“A book that makes you happy.”

The Perks of Being a Wallflower, by Stephen Chbosky.

This little book is the universe and life shoved into binding. It doesn’t make me happy in the sense that everything is smiles and rainbows in the book–anything but, actually. It makes me happy in the sense that it’s small enough to be read completely when I’m feeling down. It’s instant. It’s a quick shot of reality. It reminds me of my purpose in life, of the purpose in life. I’m not quite sure what that is, but it’s reassuring to think about it. Anyway, definitely read this book if you haven’t already.

“I feel infinite.”
P.S. I’m getting the above quote tattooed.

8 thoughts on “Day 5

  1. Hmmm that’s an interesting book choice for that one, though I do kiiiind of understand it. It doesn’t make me happy reading it either, but there was something nice about it – it’s the sort of book that leaves you pondering life I guess. I know some people who have read it dozens of times, so it definitely has a tremendous effect on some people.

    • Yeah it’s not exactly the happiest book out there, but I don’t read a whole lot of happy-go-lucky books. They seem fake to me. Perks is real and insightful. That’s what makes me happy.

    • Definitely check it out! I’ve wanted to read this book for a long time and only got around to it this past semester! Read it when you can, and you’ll be glad you did.

Leave a Reply

