Week Two: Results

Several things happened this past week that hindered me from reading The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo.

1. I got horribly sick. Honestly, my chest felt like it had imploded. My attention span was destroyed, so it was intensely difficult to get through the thick words of Larsson’s work.

2. MY SIGNED AND HANKLERFISHED COPY OF THE FAULT IN OUR STARS ARRIVED IN THE MAIL. Everything else lost value.

3. Other stuff I can’t remember through my cloud of happiness as a result of #2.

So anyway, this week the book I read for my challenge was The Fault in Our Stars by the awesome Nerdfighter, John Green.

In case you AREN’T a Nerdfighter (steps to take 1: http://youtu.be/FyQi79aYfxU ; 2: be a Nerdfighter) and don’t know about TFiOS:

“Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten. Insightful, bold, irreverent, and raw, The Fault in Our Stars is award-winning-author John Green’s most ambitious and heartbreaking work yet, brilliantly exploring the funny, thrilling, and tragic business of being alive and in love.”

I did review this book on Goodreads, but I wasn’t very detailed because I had closed the books seconds before writing it; I was still emotionally distressed (severely emotionally distressed). So, onward with the book review:

THIS BOOK WAS AMAZING. Five stars, easily. The writing was simplistic, but expressive. The storyline was heartbreaking and addicting. I was kind of annoyed with Augustus when he was introduced:

“Long and leanly muscular, he dwarfed the molded plastic elementary school chair he was sitting in. Mahogany hair, straight and short. He looked my age, maybe a year older, and he sat with his tailbone against the edge of the chair, his posture aggressively poor, one hand half in a pocket of dark jeans.”

It seemed too stereotypical to like this boy (I suppose…I mean, I wouldn’t know. I’m a lesbian hahaha). Seriously though, he sounds like the typical teenage crush. I didn’t want Hazel to like him. I wanted her to maybe fall for Isaac, the boy with the eye cancer. Or someone else. He seemed too…cool. But as the story developed–as Augustus developed–I fell in fictional, platonic love with him. His and Hazel’s relationship was so perfect. I loved everything about them. I’m glad John proved me wrong, because I was really worried that I’d be disappointed.

There are so many deep meanings that are central to this book. I can’t really describe them to you, so you’ll just have to read it for yourself. I spent the last few chapters just sobbing uncontrollably. I had to take a break from reading several times. It just gets to you, it cuts straight to your heart, to the meaning of everything. I strongly recommend this book to anyone and everyone.

2 down, 50 to go.

Leave a Reply

