Day 7

Hey guys, sorry I didn’t post this yesterday! I was so exhausted I went straight to bed when I got home…at 8 o’clock. I don’t even know…

“Most underrated book.”

I’m not sure how underrated this series is, but the Alex Rider series by Anthony Horowitz is pretty freaking awesome.

I only picked this series for day 7 because not too many people I know have read–or even heard of–Alex Rider. They made the first book a movie, but it was a bust. I think many people disregard Alex Rider on the basis that it’s a children’s/young adult action book series. If you don’t know, it’s about a teenage spy in England who does all of these badass things to save the world. It’s a really, really fun read.

Something that’s always bothered me was the fact that people discredit young adult novels because they are young adult novels. It’s ridiculous. Sure there are those books that taint the name of young adult (like Twilight) but there are some amazing, mind-altering young adult books. If you want proof, check out some of John Green’s books! But, point is: don’t judge based on the genre.

Except for romance.

5 thoughts on “Day 7

  1. My friend recently recommended John Green’s books to me and has practically ordered me to read them, haha. But what are they actually about? Because I don’t really know anything about him, do his books have certain themes running through them?

    • John Green always incorporates philosophical ideas into his works, but makes them understandable to the audience. Once you read one of his books, you get a sense of Enlightenment almost. While the story lines are never too complex, the underlying themes and ideas are so intense that they can change the way you think and see the world. They’re quite amazing.

      • Cool, thanks for the info 🙂 They sound good, so I will definitely give them a go.
        Haa, my friend will be very happy to hear you say that 😉

  2. lol I love young adult books! Ok, I love books in general. But I’ll read any book from any genre, so long as it’s good. lol. I really like the Giver!! And I like kids books too (especially Dr. Seuss :p) and now I’m reading the Book Thief.
    So yea, it’s silly and stupid to judge people based on the genres they read.

Leave a Reply

