Day 9

The SOPA strike is over and rather successful! Let’s hope it doesn’t pass. Several of its former supporters have withdrawn from the campaign! This is awesome! Yeah!

So, to make up for the blackout, here is yesterday’s daily post:

“A book you thought you wouldn’t like but ended up loving.”

This happens to me a lot, actually. Namely, in English classes in high school. I think my top pick for this would have to be Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte.

Being a bookloving Nerdfighter who was destined to be an English major and often ditched her friends to read or write (run-on!!!) I’ve heard of the name “Bronte” several times. It’s like when I really wanted to read Charles Dickens’ work because he was famous. Holy hell. Have you ever tried reading his books? I had to read Great Expectations for my AP Lit course. I HATED MY LIFE.

But Wuthering Heights happened pre-Dickens. I was not aware that such literary figures may lead to repeated mental breakdowns or self-hatred for trying to further my literary horizons. I was innocent. Free. This was for my 11th grade honors English class, when absolutely nobody admitted to liking English class. It just wasn’t done. When my teacher handed out copies of the thicker-than-usual book, the class groaned in unison. I expected to hate this book just because it was being taught.

I freaking love Wuthering Heights. It’s not to the exaggerated love that Bella Swan has for it, but it is rather remarkable. If you haven’t read it, I suggest you try. I know a lot of people honestly do not like it, but don’t disregard it because a few lazy teenagers think it’s not worth their time.

Oh! Another book that would qualify for Day 9’s book of the day: Brave New World by Aldous Huxley. I’m really not into dystopian novels, but this was a really awesome book. Also taught in my 11th grade honors class.

(I think I like these books so much because of the class. My teacher that year was HOT. Hahaha just kidding, that totally undermines the novels’ literary significance! But, really, she’s sexy.)

6 thoughts on “Day 9

  1. I love Wuthering Heights! It’s one of my all time favorite books, and even though Pride & Prejudice is more popular, I by far prefer Emily Bronte 🙂

Leave a Reply

