Day 11

“A book you hated.”

…..

Fiiiine, I won’t rant about Twilight anymore. Let me go scan my bookshelves for another book to bash…

I’m not sure if this counts as double-posting since I mentioned it when talking about another book, but whatever. It’s my blog; I do what I want. 😛

Great Expectations by Charles Dickens.

I understand that Dickens is one of the most known names in literary circles. Frankly, I don’t care. I could not stand reading this book. Possibly it was because I had a tight, forced schedule to read it in, but even so. I would not enjoy this book if I was lying on the beach in California with months spread free in front of me. It took him three pages to describe someone knocking on a door. IS THAT NECESSARY?! It frustrated me so intensely. My friends and I have actually made jokes about it. We would find the most exaggerated way to say something, such as, “She formed her mouth around a yawn.” Because that is how he wrote. Honestly.

The story line itself was interesting, and I loved the character Miss Havisham. It’s not that the story was bad, it’s the writing that I couldn’t stand. I’m usually tolerant and accepting of different writing styles, but this one…I can’t fathom reading being any more painful.

Sorry Darles Chickens.

My best friend, though, loves this book! It took her about two years to finish it, but she enjoyed it somehow. Definitely give it a try, but be warned.

Also, there’s to be a movie coming out with Helena Bonham Carter as Miss Havisham. I love Helena and Miss Havisham, so I’m willing to pay the ridiculous ticket prices to see that. (Seriously though, twelve dollars?!)

One thought on “Day 11

  1. Great Expectations isn’t THAT bad! 😛 It’s funny, I was half expecting you to say Twilight again for this one.
    I already know what book I’m going to pick for this one, even though I’m several days behind. I saw “a book you hate” and the title came to me almost instantly.
    Anyway, back what I was saying – I actually found Great Expectations was a really easy read, I find Dickens in general much easier to read than Austen (something which I had always accounted to the several decades between when they wrote, but maybe it’s just personal taste). I haven’t read some of his longer work though, like David Copperfield. I bet that drones on a bit…

Leave a Reply

