Week Three: Results

This week my only goal was to finish The Help by Kathryn Stockett. Mission: COMPLETE.

My Goodreads review:

Five stars.

This book was recommended to me by my mother. I pushed it off for a while, but once I started reading it, I could not put it down! I read straight through 200 pages in three hours and quickly finished it within the next few days. The perspective switches between two maids and a white lady who does not fit the norms of Jackson, Mississippi. I think my mom wanted me to read it so badly because the white lady, Skeeter, reminds her of me. I couldn’t help but draw similarities between us; there were too many! I felt so drawn to her character, her love for writing, her need to escape the town and the people in it. Each character mentioned has so much depth, including a surprising background character. Throughout the entire book she seems flat until the very end when you find out, right alongside Skeeter, how dimensional she really is. The book is emotionally enthralling; you can’t read it without being pulled in. I felt genuine anger boiling inside of me at parts, and I laughed out loud with the characters. It’s so real and heartfelt. The story itself is hopeful and inspiring. I absolutely loved this book and would highly recommend it to anyone. Don’t disregard this book on the basis that it could be a “housewife” novel. It’s really for anyone.

I really enjoyed reading this book. It was as if I were part of the story, and I was very sad when it came to an end. Definitely check this one out. Now I can watch the movie! 😀

I also started reading Looking for Alaska by John Green today. I doubt I’ll finish tonight since I’m so busy getting ready for college, but I’ll add it as part of my goals for next week!

I hope you all enjoy reading whatever you’re currently on! Speaking of which, what are you reading? Let me know!

3 thoughts on “Week Three: Results

Leave a Reply

