Day 15 (and a weekly update)

“Book that should be on high school/college required reading lists.”

Just one? 😛

I’ve mentioned The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath yesterday as one of my favorite works by her. I was a huge fan of her poetry and I decided that I wanted to check out her book. I didn’t really know what it was about, but I figured it would be dark–that’s just who Sylvia is. I ended up absolutely loving it. It speaks not only about depression, but about the meaning of life itself. It cuts straight to the heart of humanity and pokes at it, investigates it, questions it. I was so captivated by it that I finished it almost in a day. The backcover summary of my copy ( Harper Perennial modern classics) says, “Such deep penetration into the dark and harrowing corners of the psyche is an extraordinary accomplishment and has made The Bell Jar a haunting American classic.” I completely agree. I feel like a lot of high school students and college students could learn a great deal from this book, whether they’ve felt depressed or not.

What would you suggest be required? Also, have you noticed that a lot of the books I’ve talked about say something about humanity? I just noticed that. I was thinking while typing, “Didn’t I write this a couple days ago?” Viola, The Perks of Being a Wallflower recommendation. 😛

I promised an update for this week in the title, and here it is: I am changing my book from The Night Circus to The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. I went to my library and some local bookshops; nobody had the first book. I own a copy of TGWTDT and I had started reading it before. I’m going home in a couple of weeks so I’ll stop by a Barnes and Noble and pick up a copy of The Night Circus then. Sorry!

Leave a Reply

