Day 16

Before I start, I just want to apologize for all my late-night posts. College kind of messed up my schedule. I hope you don’t mind too much and still read my blog!

Here goes:

“A book you would recommend to an ignorant/close-minded/racist person.”

Definitely The Help. This book was stunning. It showcased the typical life of a black maid in the South–the heart of racism in America. It wasn’t about blacks overpowering whites, it was about equality and understanding, civility. The book not only shows how black maids are treated and how they live, but also white perspectives of them. Conversely, it expresses views the black community held of white people based on growing up in a racist environment. This book really helps to gain a new perspective, even if you are already against racism.

I feel like people expect me to answer with these “high-brow” (OH MY GOD, I referenced something from ENG194. I thought that was over for me! Dx haha) literature. I felt silly answering with a recent fiction piece instead of a revolutionary classic about racism, but…oh well.

4 thoughts on “Day 16

  1. Hahaha of course people still read your posts! 🙂 My timezone is so out of whack with everybody I’m following and everybody that follows me, I’ve just stopped thinking about it and posted when I can!
    The Help sounds good actually, I’ve been meaning to read that (I feel like I have said this about so many books these past few weeks). And there is nothing wrong with picking a recent piece of fiction instead of ‘classics’, as I think issues such as racism change and evolve and so more modern literature is perhaps more relevant anyway?

    • Oh good! I’m worried about my sanity for when exams come around…uh oh.
      It’s fantastic; I highly recommend it. I say that about so many books every day of my life, so I completely understand! 🙂
      I suppose. I just feel silly when there are these professional, older, English majors (I imagine them with cigars and a monocle…) talking about literature (in a British accent…hmm.) Then there’s me: a little college freshman freaking out about some really awesome paperbacks hahaha.

      • Hahaha I love that image of the older literature professors! 😛 Especially because I almost went down that path of doing a PhD in literature (which if I had, I would have finished by now),…and I don’t mind a cigar, and I’m British by birth 😛 I remember I worried the same way when I did these postgrad creative writing course at uni years ago, between degrees (I spent far too long there), and there was me, in my early twenties, the lecturer who was highly established, published, and had even judged for major writing prizes, and then a lot of writers in the class who were like 20, 30 even 40 years older than me. I felt so out of place, but they were really nice and told me I brought a completely different and fresh perspective to the lectures and to my writing. So I guess the point I’m trying to make is, don’t worry about the older, potentially “traditional” English majors out there in the real world and in the blog world, either they’ll appreciate what you have to say and think you’re awesome for it, or they’re an old bore and not worth your time anyway! 😛
        Dammit I ramble sometimes…

      • Dude, you’re awesome! Grab a monocle, probably best to get a pocket watch as well, and go find a fancy library! Oh and age forward a bit. 😛
        Awww thanks, I appreciate it. 🙂 Don’t worry, so do I! A lot.

Leave a Reply

