Day 22 and an extremely heartfelt apology

Apologies first: I am so, so sorry that I haven’t been on in so long! Being back at college has really messed up my sense of time. Luckily I came home this weekend so now I am writing to you guys…albeit at 1 in the morning. Well, you take what you can get, right? (JUST SO YOU KNOW, YOU SHOULD NEVER EVER LIVE BY THOSE WORDS. FIGHT FOR WHAT YOU DESIRE.) So, onward.

“The book that made you fall in love with reading.”

I think I’ve mentioned this before, but I’ve always been a reader. I can’t avoid this one though: Harry Potter. Who saw that one coming? Yeah, I might have a bit of an obsession issue with the series, as my mother likes to point out. Anyway, Harry Potter has done so much for me. Sticking to the relevant bits, it opened a whole new world of magic and imagination with mere words; it showed me that anything is possible; and it showed me that I could be the hero even when I felt like less than a shadow. I grew up as the younger of the middle children (there are four of us, and I was the third), so I always got the shit end of everything. I was always ignored and I had to deal with a lot just growing up in that environment. Reading was an escape for me, and Harry Potter just opened up the biggest door I could have asked for. It changed the way I saw the world and myself. It changed how I thought and how I wanted to be.

Please, please don’t get me started. I can get really sentimental about this shit. Like, it’s crazy.

So, this is actually one of those questions where I am genuinely interested in your answers. What made you fall in love with reading? I feel like each story is so unique.

2 thoughts on “Day 22 and an extremely heartfelt apology

  1. Haha, I just wrote my blog on this topic today actually 😛 It’s a long answer (it’s prob best to just look at my blog), but essentially I fell in love with writing three times at different points in my life, and each time it was a number of writers who pulled me back to writing, from Roald Dahl as a child, to Douglas Adams and Aldous Huxley as a teenager, to Joseph Heller as an adult. 🙂

    • I’ll definitely check it out. 🙂 It’s interesting how that happens, isn’t it? I think for like a year I wasn’t reading at all (I was super depressed, but that’s a different story). It was Harry Potter that brought me back then too hahaha.

Leave a Reply

