Day 23

“A book you wanted to read for a long time but still haven’t.”

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA.

Story of my life.

I think right now I’d choose The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini. Due to switching schools in tenth grade and then switching back in eleventh, and then taking an AP Literature course in twelfth grade instead of the normal twelfth grade course, my reading lists were very much disrupted. Somewhere in there, The Kite Runner slipped between the cracks. I’ve heard of it before, of course, and I thought it sounded really interesting. When all of my friends started talking about it and I couldn’t join in the conversations, I felt excluded and wanted more deeply to read it. I have yet to read it, but I have finally acquired a copy, and I will tell you this story because it is so freaking cute.

A couple days before I left for spring semester, my girlfriend and I got into a heavy fight. At the end of it, she said that she was sending me a package to make up for the fight. It made me happy that she would do that, even though it wasn’t necessary. I completely forgot about the package, to be honest, because it took so long to be delivered. Something like 2 and a half weeks. But when I got an email alerting me that I had a package waiting at the desk for me, I got really excited. I tore open the packaging and The Kite Runner was just beneath the plastic. I seriously could not contain my smile. My girlfriend 1) knows me enough to know that a book always makes an excellent gift for me and 2) remembered the long conversations we’ve had about the book–one of the very few books she’s read and I hadn’t. I still smile thinking about it. ❤ She’s so freaking adorable.

So, point of the story: I need to read The Kite Runner.

 

2 thoughts on “Day 23

Leave a Reply

