Day 24

“A book that you wish more people would’ve read.”

Hmm, this is pretty difficult. Probably Girl, Interrupted by Susanna Kaysen.

I don’t know why, but I love reading books about mentally unstable people. The Bell Jar, The Burn Journals, and Girl, Interrupted. Trust me, there are much more as well. I just feel that you don’t really get to know yourself until you’ve explored the darkest corners of your mind. That’s what these people did, and they wrote about it to share their findings with us. I find it absolutely fascinating.

Girl, Interrupted is Susanna Kaysen’s story about being admitted to a psychiatric hospital for boderline personality disorder and her experience there. Susanna not only gets to understand herself more deeply, but learns how to evaluate others as well, and she brings you along for the ride as well. It’s just so interesting! I’m about to fall asleep so I’m not very coherent, but I definitely wish more people would read this book. Also, after you read the book, you should check out the film adaption with Winona Ryder and Angelina Jolie.

Leave a Reply

