Week Five: Results (and Goals, since that post is MIA!?)

I was scrolling through my blog when it occurred to me that my Week Five: Goals post is missing! I’m sure I wrote it, but I don’t know where it ran off to! So here’s a quick summary of what I had hoped to do this week:

Read Looking for Alaska by John Green.

SUCCESS! I have finished the book and I am completely happy! Although, I am a book behind schedule, I have regained my strength. Tomorrow I hope to possibly obtain a copy of The Night Circus to read this week. If I don’t, I’ll update tomorrow to tell you otherwise. For now, assume that that is my goal. I’m really excited for it!

Book summary:

before. Miles “Pudge” Halter is done with his safe life at home. His whole existence has been one big nonevent, and his obsession with famous last words has only made him crave the “Great Perhaps” (Francois Rabelais, poet) even more. He heads off to the sometimes crazy, possibly unstable, and anything-but-boring world of Culver Creek Boarding School, and his life becomes the opposite of safe. Because down the hall is Alaska Young. The gorgeous, clever, funny, sexy, self-destructive, screwed-up, and utterly fascinating Alaska Young, who is an event unto herself. She pulls Pudge into her world, launches him into the Great Perhaps and steals his heart.

after. Nothing is ever the same.”

A lot of people complain that all of John Green’s books are about a nerdy boy who falls in love with the same, odd-yet-sexy girl. I understand where they come from, but Alaska Young is completely her own character. She completely enthralled me alongside Pudge.  One quote I fell in love with is this:

“I thought for a long time that the way out of the labyrinth was to pretend that it did not exist, to build a small, self-sufficient world in a back corner of the endless maze and to pretend that I was not lost, but home. But that only led to a lonely life accompanied only by the last words of the already-dead, so I came here looking for a Great Perhaps, for real friends and a more-than-minor life.”

There were so many times in my life when I realized that I was hiding in a dark corner of the labyrinth, hiding from life because I was too scared and confused to find my way out. But while I was shutting myself out, life was happening and the Great Perhaps was passing me by. Needless to say, Looking for Alaska taught me so much and opened my mind to so many ideas. It’s not just a good story; it’s a great life lesson. The “event” is so heart-wrenching that I cried, but it taught me a lot.

After the event, when the Colonel and Pudge were searching for answers to their many “how and why questions” I was reminded so strongly of theory in English. After all, we try so hard to find the answers that best fit our questions; sometimes our biases and desires influence our findings. I’ve learned a lot in those 221 pages. I strongly suggest this book to everyone.

2 thoughts on “Week Five: Results (and Goals, since that post is MIA!?)

    • I did! I picked one up today and I was so excited! The cover art and the design and everything is just wonderful! I can’t wait to read it!

Leave a Reply

