Day 27

” The most surprising plot twist or ending.”

Honestly? I think I might punch myself in the face for saying this, but…

My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult.

If you haven’t read this/are planning to read this and do not want spoilers, go away.

That ending was completely like “WHAT?!” But I like it, because it makes sense. Well, except for the car accident. I think Picoult was PMSing when she wrote that part or something. That was just BITCHY.

Some endings that are “shocking” can be totally random and just leave you confused. I think this book’s ending actually made a lot of sense, despite the shock factor. This happens with a lot horror/suspense novels and movies. The ending is so random that of COURSE you weren’t seeing it coming! If you’ve ever seen the 80s movie Murder by Death (excellent movie, very funny) it makes fun of just that: mystery writer’s plots and endings. One of the writer’s “introduces a new character at the very end,” while others create several disguises that it becomes confusing. It’s a really great parody of mystery writers. Definitely check it out.

Any thoughts on the topic?

4 thoughts on “Day 27

  1. Have you ever read Jodi Picoult’s Handle With Care? The ending of that really suprized me as well, she seems to like throwing a curveball at the end! If you haven’t read it, I thought it was great, my fave Jodi Picoult book to date 🙂

    • No I haven’t. I’m not really a fan of her writing. Maybe I’ll check it out though. 🙂 Thanks for the recommendation!

      • No I’m not a big fan either, her books are very similar, and often tend to drag on haha but somehow I keep procuring then from other people! 🙂

      • I have a similar problem, but with recommendations. Everyone tells me I should read more of her books because she wrote one book about lesbians (she has a gay son). Like, it’s cool and all that she’s supportive but that doesn’t mean I enjoy her writing. Just because we belong to the same minority group doesn’t mean we’re all best friends, you know? Hahahaha

Leave a Reply

