Week Twelve: Goals

LET’S GET DOWN TO BUSINESS! (To defeat the Huns.)

This week I WILL:

1. Complete The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson

2. Read Virginia Woolf’s A Room of One’s Own

If I complete these two goals before the end of the week, I will post an update informing you which book I have chosen to read for the remainder of the time.

For now, the summary of Woolf’s book as given on the back of my 1957 Harvest/HBJ copy:

“Why is it, Virginia Woolf asks, that men have always had power and influence and wealth and fame–while women have had nothing but children?

There will be woman Shakespeares in the future, Mrs. Woolf urges, provided women can find the first two keys to freedom: fixed incomes and rooms of their own.”

There are also several lengthy reviews provided by the New York Times, Spectator, and Yale Review, along with short “about the author” blurb.

I’ve always been fascinated by Virginia Woolf, and I’m excited to start reading. She has a unique style and voice, and she is very opinionated–a trait I admire, especially given her historical context.

As for Dragon Tattoo, I’m a little past the half-way mark. I AM LOVING IT. This book must be made of drugs or something because I’m addicted! I honestly can not put it down once I pick it up. Te characters are so interesting–and I have a megacrush on Lisbeth Salander. Gyaaaaaah, love me!!! I find myself wanting to skip through the other perspectives just to get to hers. She’s so intruiging and different. She’s like a puzzle I am trying so solve…and failing. I’m really psyched because my campus library has the Swedish version of the movie, and then the student union is hosting a showing of the US version next month. I just want to see how they translate the characters. At the point I’m at in the book, the plot is getting much more twisted and puzzling, so I’m either deeply engulfed in the book or I’m deep in thought about the book! Even though I haven’t finished it yet, I’m gonna give an early recommendation. READ THIS BOOK.

I’ll keep you updated on my progress; in the meantime, check out my Goodreads account!

2 thoughts on “Week Twelve: Goals

  1. Hey,
    I’m not too sure what country you reside in, but if it’s not England you should check out this post from one of my blogging friends, sheโ€™s looking to interview Harry Potter fans for her Uni final project(and I know your a huge fan ๐Ÿ˜› )from all different countries. So if your interested you should definitely check it out ๐Ÿ™‚ http://anyonething.wordpress.com/2012/03/19/calling-harry-potter-fans-from-across-the-globe/#comment-691

Leave a Reply

