Week Thirteen: Goals

NEW THEME! I might mess around with the colors (the background is really boring) but I love the colors and font. What do you think?

This week, as I mentioned in my last post, I am going to the libraries. I’ll be picking up the following books:

1. Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins (Hunger Games 2)

2. The Girl Who Played With Fire by Stieg Larsson (Millennium 2)

3. The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest by Stieg Larsson (Millennium 3)

As such, my goals for this week are as follows:

1. Read A Room of One’s Own by Virginia Woolf

2. Read The Old Country by Mordicai Gerstein

3. Read Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins

4. Reach the halfway point of The Girl Who Played With Fire by Stieg Larsson

I’m really excited, because all of these books sound great. I’ll write a quick note about each book, so you know what I’m talking about if you don’t already.

A Room of One’s Own is actually a lecture given by Virginia Woolf about feminism. She argues that the two things a woman needs to be powerful are money and a room of one’s own. I’m not sure what she means by that, but I’m interested in finding out!

The Old Country is an older children’s fairy tale that I picked up at one of the discount bookstores in town. It’s about a girl who changes into a fox and is on a quest to change back. I’ve only read a couple chapters, but it’s really compelling so far. It’s a quick read, but I think I’ll enjoy it a lot. (I really love magic and fairy tales.)

The sequel to The Hunger Games, Catching Fire takes place after the Games end. Katniss and Peeta have started a potential revolt against the Capitol. Peeta and Gale are both upset with Katniss, but she and Peeta must still play the role of the “star-crossed lovers” while on the Victory Tour. It isn’t another Games; it’s a continuation of Katniss’s story. I’ve heard mixed reviews about this book. Some people loved it more than the first, and others think it’s the worst in the series. I’ll let you know at the end of the week where I stand.

The Girl Who Played With Fire is the sequel to The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo. Lisbeth Salander, the awesome female lead, is framed for murder and she must confront her past in order to solve everything. I’m really, really, really excited to learn more about Lisbeth (I’m so obsessed) so I can’t wait to get my hands on that book. I think I’ll like it a bit more than the first book because it focuses more on Lisbeth. Not that the first book was bad! I just find her story more compelling than the murder mystery.

If there are any changes to my goals, I’ll let you know. Until then, follow my Goodreads account to keep track of my progress. See you later, alligators!

One thought on “Week Thirteen: Goals

  1. Pingback: Week Thirteen: Results & Poetry Month! « Save the Bookworms

Leave a Reply

