Julie & Julia: An Introvert’s Friday Night Reflection

I’m watching Julie & Julia (on a Friday night alone in my dorm…) and it just makes me so happy. Not the being alone on a Friday night, the movie. If you’ve never heard of it, it’s about Julia Child (played by Meryl Streep) and a blogger named Julie Powell (played by Amy Adams) who challenges herself to cook her way through Julia Child’s cookbook in a year. The whole movie is fun and light-hearted and so inspirational. This movie was based on Julie Powell’s book Julie and Julia. I plan to read that sometime this year as well.

I feel as though I am Julie Powell. Although I am not a government employee who works in a cubicle, I do relate to her on other levels. She doesn’t really feel like she connects with her friends, she never finishes anything, and she’s prone to breakdowns. Also, she’s a blogger, she is passionate about what she does, and she is a writer.

I started this blog to document my reading challenge this year. I know my blog will most likely not appear in the New York Times like Julie’s did, but she gives me hope that I can be a writer. As her husband says when she tells him she’s going to be a writer, “You are a writer.” Watching both Julie and Julia’s life as they go about writing and publishing gives me hope for my own future writing. Writing my own book has been my most passionate dream since I can remember. I have notebooks and spare pieces of paper shoved into crevices in my drawers, filled with scribbles of ideas and half-formed plots. I’ve never been able to push myself through an entire novel.

But if Julie can do it, so can I.

This blog is more than just a documentation. It’s part of my experience and evolution as a reader and as a writer. This blog will help me become the writer I see myself as in my head. I will be published, just you wait.

My writing professor wrote raving feedback on my memoir, and my self-esteem soared. She loved my writing style, my voice, perspective…everything. I’ve signed up for another of her classes next semester.

My birthday is coming up (April 13…Friday the 13th…) and I’ve given my mother a list of things I would like. It was only after I emailed the list to her that I realized that everything on the list was literary in some form. I’ve always known that I was passionate about books, but seeing that it was all I wanted for my birthday made me realize something: this is what I want. I want books. I want to write them, read them, sell them, publish, edit, admire them for the rest of my life. I feel so damn passionate about books and words and stories, I couldn’t imagine my life or future without them. And that means that I have to start taking it seriously. I need to step up my game if I want to be a “serious” writer. If I want it, I need to work for it. Dreams are lovely, but can only take you so far. Once you wake up, it’s up to you to find those dreams again. Chase them with all of your heart. And that’s exactly what I intend to do.

My name is Jen. I am eighteen (almost nineteen) years old. I am an English literature major. My dream is to work in book publishing and editing, own my own bookstore, and write my own books.

I’ll let you know when I get there.

2 thoughts on “Julie & Julia: An Introvert’s Friday Night Reflection

Leave a Reply

