Week Thirteen: Results & Poetry Month!

To recap this week’s goals, I wanted to read Catching Fire, Old Country, A Room of One’s Own, and half of The Girl Who Played With Fire. 

I finished Old Country in about an hour (since it’s only about a hundred pages). Like I said in my Goals post, the book is a dark, slightly political fairy tale. It’s about a girl who changes into a fox and must find her body (now home to the fox). It’s about discovering yourself, politics, imagination, and family. While there wasn’t a lot to work with in regards to length, the story was much more than adequate. It was dark enough that I didn’t feel like I was reading a children’s book, but funny and magical enough that I had fun reading it. I picked it up for a couple of dollars and it was well worth it. It was written by Mordicai Gerstein.

As for Catching Fire, the sequel to The Hunger Games, it was almost four hundred pages and required about three days to finish it. Besides sleeping, eating, and attending class, I paid little to no attention to anything besides this book. The story was just constantly pulling me in; there was never a lull or boring moment. I love that Katniss is such an awesome female lead yet still has weaknesses. Obviously, her protectiveness is a positive weakness, but there is more than that. She can be rather selfish (which is shown several times) and doesn’t really know how to handle other people. Her relationships are always confusing and conflicting, she doesn’t know how to win over a crowd without major assistance, and she’s rather reckless. Her awkwardness makes her feel more real, like she has her own personality. I know I’ve mentioned this when discussing Lisbeth Salander from The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo, but I absolutely hate when female leads are made stock characters, the epitome of what a female lead should be but without any faults. I think Suzanne Collins did a very good job on that front, because I do see Katniss as a strong female hero. I don’t want to give any spoilers, but this book just blew my mind. Especially the ending! You think you know, but you really don’t. GYAAAHHHH!!!!!

I’m still reading A Room of One’s Own and The Girl Who Played With Fire, but I am positive that I will be able to finish the first and reach the halfway point of the other by the end of the night. Honestly, this was the most introverted, anti-social, best weekend I’ve had on campus so far. ❤

P.S. I did have some social interaction with my friend last night! Our campus theater was showing Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows, and tickets were only $2.00 so we went. IT WAS SO GOOD. Also, Noomi Rapace, the actress who played Lisbeth in the Swedish Millenium movies, was in it! I squealed with happiness every time she came on the screen.

As the title of this post promises, I’m gonna talk about National Poetry Month! If you don’t know, National Poetry Month is held every April. In honor of this, I will be posting a poem by a famous poet every day. I might also add my own, since I will be participating in NaPoWriMo–a spin-off of NaNoWriMo in which you write a poem a day in the month of April. If I deem it worthy of public viewing (good luck on that), I’ll post it here as well as the famous one. I strongly urge you to get involved too! You don’t need to write poems if you don’t want to, but at least celebrate poetry in some way. Poets.org has several ways for you to celebrate this month!

While prepping for National Poetry Month, I started thinking (I do that every once in a while). Some of my favorite poets lived around me…and by around I mean in the North East of America. I began researching the graves and museums (generally the poets’ houses) of some of my favorites. I talked to my girlfriend about it, and she agreed that she would join me this summer on my

POET’S GRAVE AND HOME ROADTRIP!

A few stops we will be making are:

-Edgar Allan Poe in Baltimore, MD/ Philadelphia, PA/ Richmond, VA

-Emily Dickinson in Amherst, MA

-Robert Frost in Bennington, VT

-Walt Whitman in Camden, NJ

There are many more, and I will continue to look for more, but I am so excited about this!

Well, back to reading.

(My friend just bought the US version of The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo and we’re going to watch it on Monday. LDFHADFGHISJDFAFOJ I can’t wait!)

Leave a Reply

