Week Fourteen: Results AND Poetry Month Days 5, 6, and 7 (Holy poop, long post)

I am terribly sorry for yet another late post. My English professor has been murdering us with papers, and I had to write one by midnight last night. To say the least, this has been a pretty stressful week. I haven’t been able to find the time to update the blog, but I’ll try to make up for it now.

My goals for this week were pretty straightforward:

1. Read The Girl Who Played With Fire

2. Read Mockingjay

3. Read A Room of One’s Own

Unfortunately, I haven’t completed ANY of these! I’m less than 100 pages away from finishing The Girl Who Played With Fire, but I finally had a social life this weekend and spent the evening with my friend instead of reading. The one time I finally get what I want, it conflicts with my plans…that’s life. Well, my life anyway.

did read a book this week though. For my History class, we had to read Beowulf for a source analysis paper. Even though it wasn’t intended for my blog, I’m counting it. Also, I plan on finishing The Girl Who Played With Fire tonight.

SPEAKING OF WHICH: My birthday is this Friday (the thirteenth!) but I’ll be staying on campus for the weekend. We’re celebrating my birthday with my family this Sunday instead, but my mother is sending a box of secret stuff with me not to be opened until Friday! I’m a curious cat! How am I supposed to stare at this box for a whole WEEK before opening it?! She knows me though, and is giving me part of my present tomorrow. :3 She’s also not very sneaky; I was reading the library copy of The Girl Who Played With Fire when she came into my room.

Mom: So…*casually leans against wobbly closet door and stumbles* is that a library book?

Me: Umm…yeah. I didn’t have the money to buy it.

Mom: You’re not going to.

Me: No…I don’t have money.

Mom: You’re not buying it. *walks away*

Hmmm, I wonder what I’m getting for my birthday? Hahaha ❤

Anyway, poetry time! I have to make up for lost time, since I think the last time I posted was on Wednesday. D: (sorrysorrysorry) I’m not going to really introduce these as I usually do, just because it’d take you forever to read this one post. So, here we go.

i carry your heart with me, by e. e. cummings

i carry your heart with me(i carry it in
my heart)i am never without it(anywhere
i go you go,my dear; and whatever is done
by only me is your doing,my darling)
i fear
no fate(for you are my fate,my sweet)i want
no world(for beautiful you are my world,my true)
and it’s you are whatever a moon has always meant
and whatever a sun will always sing is you

here is the deepest secret nobody knows
(here is the root of the root and the bud of the bud
and the sky of the sky of a tree called life;which grows
higher than the soul can hope or mind can hide)
and this is the wonder that’s keeping the stars apart

i carry your heart(i carry it in my heart)

 

Nothing Gold Can Stay, by Robert Frost

Nature’s first green is gold,
Her hardest hue to hold.
Her early leaf’s a flower;
But only so an hour.
Then leaf subsides to leaf.
So Eden sank to grief,
So dawn goes down to day.
Nothing gold can stay.

 

Because I could not stop for Death, by Emily Dickinson

Because I could not stop for Death,
He kindly stopped for me;
The carriage held but just ourselves
And Immortality.
We slowly drove, he knew no haste,
And I had put away
My labor, and my leisure too,
For his civility.

We passed the school, where children strove
At recess, in the ring;
We passed the fields of gazing grain,
We passed the setting sun.

Or rather, he passed us;
The dews grew quivering and chill,
For only gossamer my gown,
My tippet only tulle.

We paused before a house that seemed
A swelling of the ground;
The roof was scarcely visible,
The cornice but a mound.

Since then ’tis centuries, and yet each
Feels shorter than the day
I first surmised the horses’ heads
Were toward eternity.

Leave a Reply

