National Poetry Month Day 10 and some rambles

It’s already double-digits into the National Poetry month! :O You know what that means?!

ANSWER: The semester is almost over!!! What am I going to do when I don’t have schoolwork to take up my life?!

ANSWER: READ. BLOG. SLEEP. EAT. MAYBE-GET-A-SOCIAL-LIFE….SLEEP.

Until then, I will be working my ass off through finals and essays 😐 Speaking of which, I am working on my final English paper, which is focused on women’s freedoms in the patriarchal society of the 17th century New England Puritan colonies. Whew, that was a mouth-full. I’m focusing on three women in particular: Mary Rowlandson, Anne Hutchinson, and Anne Bradstreet. Anne Bradstreet is my favorite of the three for several reasons, one of which is that she’s badass. Hutchinson fought the patriarchy but got kicked out and was forced to move to Rhode Island. Bradstreet, though, totally played the system. She was a poet and managed to work her anti-patriarchal, reformed Puritan beliefs into her work without getting caught. In fact, she was rather popular. Purtians were against earthly love, including love between husband and wife. However, Bradstreet and her husband were passionately in love and she refused to deny that. In her poetry, she manipulates it enough that she is subordinate to her husband (another factor of Puritanism…boo!!) and she creates ambiguity to hide her true meanings. At the end of the following poem, which describes her love for her husband, the idea of their love lasting forever could mean several things: they will survive through their children, their love is documented in her poetry and will therefore stand the test of time, or they will love each other even after death. This last idea, which is most likely her true meaning, also goes against Puritan beliefs, in which the bond of marriage ends at death (to stop grieving/mourning and to not get too attached to earthly pleasures like…people…?) I dunno, they were strange. I hope you enjoy!

To My Dear and Loving Husband, by Anne Bradstreet

If ever two were one, then surely we.
If ever man were lov’d by wife, then thee.
If ever wife was happy in a man,
Compare with me, ye women, if you can.
I prize thy love more than whole Mines of gold
Or all the riches that the East doth hold.
My love is such that Rivers cAnneot quench,
Nor ought but love from thee give recompetence.
Thy love is such I can no way repay.
The heavens reward thee manifold, I pray.
Then while we live, in love let’s so persever
That when we live no more, we may live ever.

RAMBLE RAMBLE RAMBLE TIME!

I’ve been planning and doodling tattoo ideas for about seven years now, and I think it’s high time I get one. I have plenty of ideas, and all of them have meaning. I don’t really have pictures to show you guys, since most of them are original, but I’ll give you a little (hopefully) list:

  • ripped black bat wings on my shoulder blades with the quote “take these broken wings and learn to fly” between them (font tbd)
  • infinity sign with the word “feel” incorporated into the line (in cursive) on my wrist
  • profile of Hogwarts in the Mirror of Erised, with the quote “Of course it is happening inside your head, but why on earth should that mean that it is not real?” around the frame (on thigh)
  • “I took a deep breath and listened to the old bray of my heart. I am. I am. I am.” sylvia plath quote, courier or similar font on inside of upper arm
  • three stars from pages of Harry Potter behind ear

I have plenty more (trust me), but I want to know about YOUR tattoos and tattoo ideas! Let me know!

P.S. My birthday is on Friday, and I might use some of my birthday money to get myself the infinity tattoo!

Leave a Reply

