Week Fifteen: Results

Yet another disappointing week, unfortunately. I haven’t had much time to do anything besides homework. I haven’t finishing Mockingjay or The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest or even A Room of One’s Own! D: Bad bookworm! Bad!

However, I did finish The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne for my English class. If you read my review on Goodreads, you’ll see my comments on it. Basically, I didn’t get to read it in high school and wanted to give it another try. I found out we needed to read it for my English class this semester, but I was a bit nervous because I’ve heard mixed reviews. I found it wonderful, though. I loved the story and the rebellion. For my term paper, I discussed the freedom of expression for 17th century Puritan women in the New England colonies. Therefore, I had a pretty nice background to compare with the book. It made it much more interesting, at least for me. If you haven’t read it, I really suggest it. It’s famous for a reason. Hester Prynne is such a rebel who fights the patriarchy. You know how much I love kickass women like that. She refuses to give into the Puritan leaders and even makes the scarlet letter beautiful by elaborately embroidering it with gold. I could go on forever just discussing Hester, but I’ll stop.

I’m kinda upset that I haven’t caught up yet, but it’s almost summer break. Then I’ll hopefully be ahead of schedule. :3

On another note, I’ve been watching movies on ABC Family all day. First Princess Diaries, then Princess Diaries 2, followed by Aladdin and Beauty and the Beast. I have a pretty solid theory that Belle is Hermione Granger and the Beast is Ron Weasley. It fits with other characters as well! I’m pretty proud of this realization. My girlfriend is getting annoyed because I keep shouting and pointing whenever I find another connection. YOU CAN’T STOP ME.

AND J.K. ROWLING RELEASED HER BOOK INFORMATION. This happened yesterday or something, but I’m still excited. It’s to be called The Casual Vacancy and will be released September 27…and the main character’s name is Harry…I mean Barry. Really, Jo? The premise seems kinda dry, but I am still willing to wait at midnight for it.

Enjoy your evenings, and I will chat with you tomorrow. 🙂 Happy reading.

Leave a Reply

