Week Sixteen: Goals and National Poetry Month Day 15

This week is going to be busy as hell, so my goals this week aren’t going to be terribly extensive. In fact, my only goal is to finish Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins. The copy I have right now is borrowed from my friend so I need to return it as soon as possible. Speaking of borrowed books, I’ve been lending out my books to friends, but I need to start packing my dorm up soon. I really need my books back…I will be reading The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest by Stieg Larsson though because I’m hooked. It would be lovely if I do finish it!

I’m going back to the public library tomorrow, and I’m so happy. I won’t be borrowing any books, but I will spend some time just absorbing its loveliness. :3

As I’m writing this, my desk is completely obscured behind piles of books. It’s pretty distracting since they all look so wonderful. It’s really difficult for me to put books away because seeing them makes me feel better. I try to keep my favorite books and books I need to read still on my desk. The issue with this is that I KNOW how wonderful my favorite books are, so I want to stop what I’m doing, ignore the unread books, and re-read all of my favorite books.

Here’s a short list of some of my sluttiest, most tempting books. Let me know what yours are:

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

Wuthering Heights  by Emily Bronte

Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J.K. Rowling

Paper Towns by John Green

Now for today’s poem! I honestly can’t believe that I have gone fifteen days without using this poet. I feel slightly ashamed. So here is one of my favorite poems by one of the best poets:

Sonnet 18, by William Shakespeare

Shall I compare thee to a summer’s day?
Thou art more lovely and more temperate.
Rough winds do shake the darling buds of May,
And summer’s lease hath all too short a date.
Sometime too hot the eye of heaven shines,
And often is his gold complexion dimmed;
And every fair from fair sometime declines,
By chance, or nature’s changing course untrimmed.
But thy eternal summer shall not fade
Nor lose possession of that fair thou ow’st;
Nor shall death brag thou wand’rest in his shade,
When in eternal lines to time thou grow’st,
So long as men can breathe or eyes can see,
So long lives this, and this gives life to thee.

Want more Shakespeare? How about Shakespeare and Harry Potter?! AT THE SAME TIME. Check out these links of Harry Potter stars Alan Rickman and Ralph Fiennes reading Shakespeare sonnets:

Rickman: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xP06F0yynic

Fiennes: http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=_8PbuQkUWWE#!

2 thoughts on “Week Sixteen: Goals and National Poetry Month Day 15

  1. Exactly how I feel, books they always make me feel better ❤ I can honestly just stare at them for hours and feel completely content.
    Amoung my most tempting books is a bundle of Kelley Armstrong, J.K Rowling, Suzanne Collins, J.R.R Tolkien and of course Emily Brote! Wuthering Heights IS AMAZINGGGGGG!! xD

Leave a Reply

