National Poetry Month Days 18&19

Again? Sorry, but this workload is killing me! The funny thing is that most of my professors have given me free reign on my papers and projects, so this really shouldn’t be as bad as it seems. Unfortunately, I have absolutely no time management skills and I’m a master procrastinator. You can see where this is going, right? Let me spell it out for you: my campaign project is due in two weeks (the portfolio is supposed to be huge)…I painted a bit on a poster for it. My rough draft for my Writing paper was due today at 8am. Guess how I spent my night?

Anyway, I didn’t really manage to find time to update this here blog, so I offer my sincere apologies.

An update on my reading progress: equally as abysmal. I’m trying though! Give me a couple more days and we’ll see if I finished. (I’m going to a concert tonight, so I don’t think I’ll be getting a lot of the reading in today. D: )

And you all know how much I love me some kickass female characters, right? Well, thanks to a weekly email book magazine thing that I subscribe to, I’ve happened upon this lovely link:

http://www.forbes.com/sites/carolinehoward/2012/03/27/katniss-everdeen-hermione-ramona-jane-eyre-lady-characters-by-female-authors/

So, poetry. I’ve mentioned that I recently borrowed a couple of Sylvia Plath biographies from the public library, right? Well I’ve started to read one of them, and I’ve reentered my obsession with her writing. So here’s another one of her poems:

Crossing the Water, by Sylvia Plath

Black lake, black boat, two black, cut-paper people.
Where do the black trees go that drink here?
Their shadows must cover Canada.

A little light is filtering from the water flowers.
Their leaves do not wish us to hurry:
They are round and flat and full of dark advice.

Cold worlds shake from the oar.
The spirit of blackness is in us, it is in the fishes.
A snag is lifting a valedictory, pale hand;

Stars open among the lilies.
Are you not blinded by such expressionless sirens?
This is the silence of astounded souls.

Leave a Reply

