Week Seventeen: Goals and NPM Day 22

Do you have any idea how stressful it was to pick a book for this week? Just ONE book? Although I’ve started to pack some of my things away (including books) for the summer, my desk is still filled with amazing, tempting books. However, what with finals soon and all of my papers&projects, I’ve decided to just go with one (hopefully) simple goal:

1. Finish The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest by Stieg Larsson

I’m hoping I’ll be able to finish it. I’m suffering from what my roommate and I call “Deathly Hallows Syndrome.” I’ve always been an avid Harry Potter fan and have read the books within the first two days of their release…except for Deathly Hallows. It took me a week to finish because I kept pushing it off, unwilling to face the fact that there would be no more once I finish it. It’s quite pathetic, but hey. This was my childhood going down the drain. Anyway, whenever we avoid something because we don’t want it to end, we say we’re suffering from “Deathly Hallows Syndrome.” And that is what I’m going through with the Millennium series (The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo, etc.)

IT’S JUST SO GOOD! *sob*

So, moving on. Insatiable Booksluts wrote a wonderful post about National Poetry Month, and I strongly suggest you check that out. They’re awesome. They used four different poems to illustrate their point, and I absolutely loved all of them. However, I’m only going to choose one:

In the Desert, by Stephen Crane

In the desert
I saw a creature, naked, bestial,
Who, squatting upon the ground,
Held his heart in his hands,
And ate of it.
I said, “Is it good, friend?”
“It is bitter—bitter,” he answered;

“But I like it
“Because it is bitter,
“And because it is my heart.”

This guy has a fantastic mustache! There’s a picture in the Booksluts’ post. LOOK AT IT.

That’s all for this rainy, lonely Sunday. I really need to make some more friends…well, see you tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

