Week Sixteen: Results, NPM Days 20&21, and bears. Oh my!

Okay, so I lied about the bears. However…

My goals are complete! Where's my party?

I finished Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins earlier today. It was actually a quick read since Collins’ writing hadn’t improved much over the span of the series. Unfortunately, I kinda really hated the book. I ranted about it in my Goodreads review, so go check that out. But be warned, there are spoilers in this post and in the review on Goodreads. So if you haven’t read the book, here’s some quick basics:

  • 3/5 stars
  • The writing was amateur
  • I wasn’t pleased at all with the ending
  • Katniss’s character lost its kickass female lead quality, at least in my opinion

If you don’t want to read any spoilers, please stop here, scroll down until you see another picture, and continue reading from there.

I really wanted to like this book. For about 2/3 of the book, I was tolerating the writing and caught up in the story. However, the ending completely ruined everything for me. That last 1/3 can not make up for the previous 2/3. Everything about it was just…wrong. Finnick Odair’s death really took a toll on me; in my opinion, he deserved to live much more than Katniss did. While she was planning suicide, he was finally reunited with and happily married to his beloved Annie. They suffered so much, and they should have been able to live their lives out together. Prim’s death also seemed much too harsh for me. She was the purest character of them all, and there was no need to kill her off. I understand the author’s want to make the story reflect the unjust horrors of war, but really?

Another issue I had with the ending was Katniss’s relationship with Peeta. Not only did she abandon him when he was in his worst state, she had to be scolded by a drunk man in order to treat Peeta right. Clearly, she did not deserve him. In addition, she spent three books contemplating who she should be with–as if one needs to contemplate these things. Not only that, but she only made her “decision” after Gale had left, leaving no other option. So she gets to spend the rest of her miserable life with a husband she doesn’t even completely love and their children, while Finnick is dead and his wife Annie raises their child alone. This, to me, goes far beyond the cruelties of war.

Katniss is adored by audiences for being a strong female lead. This was one of the reasons I actually kept reading the series. She was a strong character, yet flawed. She was not glorified, as many authors make female leads in order to seem like an avid feminist or some other reason, but she still stood strong to her beliefs and did what she thought was right. To me, at least, in Mockingjay, Katniss seemed to have lost that quality. While she had always been somewhat selfish–a natural flaw–it seemed to be the only major quality Katniss had at the end of the series. Likewise, Katniss is merely “a piece in their Games” instead of actively participating in the rebellion. I understand that she is supposed to be the face of the rebellion, but I was SO disappointed that she rarely even participated in the fight. When the actual takeover happened, she was unconscious. Katniss is portrayed as a strong character, but there is no proof of that in this book.

Overall, I was completely disappointed with the ending to this series. I had such high hopes and there was so much that could have been done.

*~*~*SPOILERS ARE OVER.*~*~*

Alpaca and a kitten?! How freaking cute! Also, spoilers are over.

I’m only going to post one poem since this post is already exceedingly long.

To kiss a forehead is to erase worry, by Marina Tsvetaeva

To kiss a forehead is to erase worry.
I kiss your forehead.

To kiss the eyes is to lift sleeplessness.
I kiss your eyes.

To kiss the lips is to drink water.
I kiss your lips.

To kiss a forehead is to erase memory.
I kiss your forehead.

That is all for now. I’ll see you again tomorrow for yet another week of reading. Ta-ta.

2 thoughts on “Week Sixteen: Results, NPM Days 20&21, and bears. Oh my!

  1. Haha I’ve noticed that you’ve been buying a lot more books than you’ve been reading (or at least it seems that way) so it’s cool to hear that you’ve finished one. Here’s a party: http://www.motivationalz.com/pictures/100_naked_chicks.jpg I felt much the same about Mockingjay when I’d finished it too (although my Goodreads review is much, much shorter, I was so exasperated by the time I finished).

    Also that’s a really cute poem.

    • Oh definitely. That’s my hamartia, since it WILL lead to my downfall sooner or later hahaha. I’m trying to work on that though. 🙂 Thanks for the naked chicks!!!! They always make parties livelier. 😉 I’m glad to hear I’m not alone in my thoughts on this book. I thought the poem was cute too. Glad you agree!
      Thanks for reading. 🙂

Leave a Reply

