Let’s Play a Game of Catch-Up (Weeks 20, 21, 22)

Holy @$%^&* I am freaking late posting this! My sincerest apologies, everyone. I’ve been busy applying for jobs and writing a story–which I’m actually really proud of. Oh, and reading too, of course. However, I still haven’t finished any of the books I’ve planned to! I don’t know what’s going on with me! I have all this spare time to read now that it’s summer, and I’m not finishing anything? In my defense, there has been a severe heat wave and I only recently had the AC turned on. Most of my time previous to that was spent sprawled out in my living room trying not to touch too much hot air. (It didn’t work well.)

I’m sure I’ve mentioned this before, but every summer I read the entire Harry Potter series over again. As such, I’m reading Sorcerer’s Stone right now. I’ve really missed this book; it was the book that introduced me to a whole new world of magic and yet I often neglect it for the later books.

“It’s okay baby, I’m here now,” I creepily whisper to my tattered paperback as I hold it to my face.

If any of you are Harry Potter fans, I encourage you to check out Mugglenet.com’s new project, Alohomora. It’s an interactive site where fans read the books together, discuss theories, share stories, etc. It’s actually really awesome, but I haven’t been keeping my reading schedule parallel with their’s. I think I might try to catch up though, since I really miss that sense of community.

I’m still trying to finish The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest by Stieg Larsson. It’s still interesting, but I feel that since I took such a long break that I’m not as invested in the story. I only really read to find out about Lisbeth (I can’t help that I have so many literary and fictional crushes! Do not judge me!) I’m more than halfway done though, and you can always follow my progress on Goodreads.

I realized how far behind schedule I was the other day, so I decided to start reading another book on top of these. The Harry Potter series doesn’t count for my challenge because I have already read them all…several times. However, I really do need to start doubling up on the books. I took a poll on my Tumblr and Facebook of which of the following books I should read first: The Hobbit, The Kite Runner, or Catcher in the Rye. The winner was The Kite Runner, and I’m so excited. So many people have recommended this book, and I finally get to read the book my girlfriend bought me as an apology!

In other news, I’m heading to the library this week. I’ve placed several books on hold and will be spending hours finding more from the shelves. I’ll post when I come home with my borrowed treasures. Hopefully this will help boost my book count!

In other other news, The Great Gatsby and The Hobbit movies come out this December!!!!!

Image

Leo DiCaprio as Gatsby and Carey Mulligan as Daisy. Nerdgasm.

Image

I still have to read these book, but GOD I freaking love the movies. This is the only series that has broken my “book first” rule. I’m so excited for this movie and to read the books.

I wanna know what everyone else is reading this summer. I’ve packed away most of my books so that it’s easier to bring them back to campus in the fall, but I’ve kept my summer reading list out. What’s on your list? TALK TO ME.

Leave a Reply

