Apparently I have commitment issues…

I’m not even going to apologize. I’m sure you’re all tired of my crap, but whatever. Let’s just get this show on the road, yeah?

(Okay I’m sorry, I’m really sorry. I don’t even know why I haven’t been updating. It’s not like my social life is booming or anything. Quite the opposite actually. Well, except for this week. The week I decide to update is the week I’m the busiest. I don’t understand. Anyway, sorry. Really.)

Currently, I am five books behind schedule but I am working on fixing that. Since the last time I’ve updated, I have finished a few books. So here’s a quick review of each.

Supernatural: War of the Sons by Rebecca Dessertine–This book is based on the AMAZING show on CW. It’s about two brothers who fight demons and are caught in the battle between Heaven and Hell. The books are pretty much long, published fan fiction for the show.  I actually really enjoyed this story. I thought it was believable and everyone was in character the entire time. It felt like it could have easily been part of the show. It was funny and exciting, and the story was really creative. If you love Supernatural, check this book out.

Running with Scissors by Augusten Burroughs–I watched the movie before I read the book, but only because the library wanted the DVD back within a few days whereas I had a few weeks to read the book. I was a bit worried about how I’d respond to the book afterward, but I thoroughly enjoyed both the movie and book. I feel a bit more attached to the book–surprise, surprise–because I feel as if it has more resolution. The movie is just a lot of weird happening, but I feel that the book has more of a moral to it. A lesson that Augusten learned and felt important enough to share. I really didn’t know what to expect with this story, but I enjoyed it. A bit disturbing but highly hilarious!

Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare–I love Cassandra Clare’s work so much. She’s one of the best storytellers I’ve come across. This book is the first in the Infernal Devices series, which is the prequel series to the Mortal Instruments. I only read the first book in TMI (The City of Bones) but I loved it. I don’t know why I never finished it, but I plan on reading the rest this year! Clockwork Angel did not disappoint me. It’s set in one of my favorite settings: Victorian London. The story is magical and dark and fantastic and romantic and simply amazing. It was difficult to put down and I finished it within a couple of days. I’m currently reading the sequel, Clockwork Prince. The third book’s cover was recently released and the book will be coming out soon.

I also read four books about writing and publishing. I wrote quick reviews on my Goodreads account if you’re interested in checking them out, but I’m not going to spend time writing about it here.

Last month I mentioned that I was participating in Camp Nanowrimo during the month of June. While I failed at my attempt, I refuse to let my story die. It’s really important to me and I think it’s important to tell. I hope that I’ll at least have the first draft written this year. I’ll keep you updated, if you wish.

Besides that, nothing much has been happening in my life. I’m just waiting to go back to college. I’m not used to these long summers! I miss my university and my friends–and the convenient location of Starbucks on campus. I miss my dorm and the freedom. Fall semester cannot come soon enough.

I’m not going to promise anything, but I’ll try to get this blog updated on a regular basis again. I’ll try. Check back later this week!

Hope you’re having a great summer!

Jen x

Leave a Reply

