Week 36: Results & Week 37: Goals

So I’m a couple days late again. What can I say? College life, man. Anyway, the results are yet again disappointing. I’m almost “done” Jane Erye,but I’m not reading every chapter so I don’t really consider this “reading the book.” I’m going to go back afterwards and read it by myself. My professor assigned random chapters, which left out half of the plot. I’m very confused and ended up Sparknoting the whole thing. I’m pretty upset with this professor right now. I’ve been powering through some of my homework for this week so hopefully I’ll have some time to read my books. I managed to get a couple pages of Tipping the Velvet in the other night–and hopefully some tonight, too! I’m really trying to get through my library books; they all look so good! No wonder I took them out. 😛

I don’t even know if I should try to lay out goals since I don’t really know what my schedule will be like. I’m going to hear back from the president of the English Club about possibly joining as the treasurer, and I’ll be hearing back from the president of Student Involvement about the progress of my Harry Potter club–I’m the founder and president! Add onto that homework, classes, eating, sleeping, showering, whatever, and I don’t know when I’ll be able to just read. It’s really upsetting, actually, but this semester has been going really well so far!

Anyway, I guess I should set up some kind of goal. I guess I’ll try to finish Perfect by Ellen Hopkins. I’ve been reading it for a while, it’s a quick read, and it’s due back at the library soon I think…I should check its due date. D:

In unrelated news, today is World Suicide Prevention Day! I know I’m posting late in the day, but this is a really important issue. I’m not asking you to write “love” on your arm or anything, because–let’s be real–doing that does NOTHING for the issue at hand. You’re not helping anyone, you’re not actively doing anything, but it makes you feel better about yourself for pretending to participate in something deemed “worthy” enough of a cause. What I’m asking you to do is do some research. Learn more about depression and suicide (risk factors, symptoms, signs, etc.) and what you can do to help. Donate to organizations like American Foundation for Suicide Prevention or the JED Foundation. Find out if there is a suicide awareness walk or other activity in your area. Spread the word and educate people. Volunteer at an organization. DO SOMETHING. I created a whole campaign centered around depression and suicide awareness and prevention for my Harry Potter club. Once we’re up and running, we’ll be working on it. It’s a really important issue that needs to be addressed. Do what you can to help. All this week is National Suicide Prevention Week. Find out more online.

In OTHER unrelated news, Banned Book Week is coming up at the end of this month! It’s pretty much a big “fuck you” to censorship. I’m going to be reading Slaughterhouse-Five by Kurt Vonnegut Jr. with Out of Print’s book club (find them on Facebook; they have really cool book related shirts and stuff). Also, check out this hilariously sarcastic article about banned books:

http://www.11points.com/books/11_most_ironically_banned_books_of_all_time

What are you guys going to be doing to celebrate? Let me know in the comments! Also if you have any motivational speeches for me, I could use them. Or time management tips! Also if anyone wants to send me a French tutor, that’d be appreciated. 😛 Happy reading, and I’ll see you later this week.

Leave a Reply

