Week 39: Results & Week 40: Goals, and BANNED BOOKS WEEK!

It’s Banned Books Week! For thirty years, readers and writers, booksellers and librarians have been coming together to reject censorship. During Banned Books Week, which this year is September 30-October 6, people are encouraged to read books that have been banned or challenged by censors. Check out the American Library Association’s list of Banned and Challenged Classics to pick something to read this week! I know I’m going to read The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger. I’ve never read it in high school like most people at my school, and I’ve heard really passionate yet mixed reviews. I’m slightly nervous to read it, but I have a cute, old copy! That makes it better. I’m also going to be joining Out of Print’s book club in reading Kurt Vonnegut Jr.’s Slaughterhouse-Five starting on Thursday. I don’t know why we’re starting on Thursday; don’t ask me, I’m not in charge. Let me know what you’re planning on reading! I want to know! Really!

This week I didn’t get to finish Tipping the Velvet like I wanted to, but only because the library started sending me snappy emails about how I need to return my books on time, how my fine is raising, how it’s a week late, etc. It’s not my fault I want to read the book. So anyway, I had to return the book to the library (in my hometown, no less). I did find out that my university library has a copy. I’ll probably pick that up some time this month.

That doesn’t mean I didn’t finish a book though! I was good this week! I finished Odd Girls and Twilight Lovers by Lillian Faderman. I read the book for my Lesbian Studies course, and it was very interesting. It was a history of lesbians in America, and it was pretty extensive. While the writing was a bit repetitive (the 20-30 page long chapters could have easily been narrowed down to 10-15), the information was often surprising and detailed. As a lesbian, I found it interesting to take a historical look at lesbians in my country. It was informative, yet it did not read like a textbook. While I wouldn’t necessarily say it’s a good casual read, it is easy to read through if you’re looking for the information.

So, to recap, my goals this week are to read The Catcher in the Rye and start Slaughterhouse-Five. I also want to finish It’s Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini. I don’t remember if I mentioned this book last week, but this book is pretty fantastic and I’m only 100 pages in. I saw the movie first, only because I didn’t know it was based on a book. Also my roommate last year kinda forced me to see it (I had so much homework to do, but she forced me to have fun. I like her.) The story is about a high school kid named Craig who becomes depressed and eventually suicidal. He checks himself into a hospital and he writes about his experiences there. The movie was amazing, but pretty triggering for people who are sensitive to suicide, depression, or self-harm. I didn’t know what the movie was about when I watched it, and it caused a huge panic attack. If you’re sensitive to those kinds of things, please be cautious of this story. For those of you who aren’t, I definitely recommend it.

It’s October! Does anybody know what they’re going to be for Halloween? I’m feeling a 1920s flapper from The Great Gatsby. Also, my English Club is going to host a showing of Midnight in Paris. I’ve never seen it, but it’ll be a costumed event in the theme of Gatsby. I figured I could pick up a couple of things from Forever 21 and use it for both events! What are your costume ideas? Let me know in the comments!

That’s it for now! I’ve got to go do more homework (I feel like that’s all my life is now…)

Leave a Reply

