Weeks 40, 41, and 42 Results & Week 43 Goals

Oh jeez, I’m a few weeks behind schedule again. I am so sincerely sorry, guys. I’ll try to keep up better. Life’s been pretty hectic, though. I’m interning at the Book Barn (it’s very cool, check it out) and this past week was midterm. You can’t even imagine. Midterms for an English major = about 50 pages of essays due in a week. Anyway, let’s get this show on the road.

Over the past couple of weeks, I’ve finished both It’s Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini and A Border Passage by Leila Ahmed. I had to read the latter for my Women’s Lit course, and it was very interesting. While I most likely wouldn’t have chosen this book to read at my leisure, it was still a very good read. I tend to like memoirs and autobiographies, so this was right up my alley. It’s a memoir of an Egyptian woman and her coming to terms with her changing identity as a feminist in America. The memoir discusses the role of women in different societies, religion, national identity, among others. It was very intriguing, and I’d suggest it if you’re interested in different cultures and memoirs.

I also said I finished It’s Kind of a Funny Story. This book. Oh my goodness. Despite the sensitive topics of depression, self-harm, and suicide, it was freaking hilarious! I loved the main character, Craig. His voice was so realistic and simplistic at the same time. It wasn’t stretched for the sake of a story; he was real. That made the story feel so much easier to relate to. I saw the movie before reading the book, and while both are fantastic, the book–as usual–was so much better. The movie changed a lot of the aspects and I feel that a lot of the characters were stripped of their personality and voices. If you don’t have a sensitivity to any of the triggering topics, I’d definitely suggest this book to anyone.

Currently I am reading The Catcher in the Rye by J. D. Salinger and Nervous Conditions by Tsitsi Dangarembga. I’m really loving Catcher in the Rye so far. Holden Caulfield is so snarky; I absolutely love it. I haven’t gotten to any actual plot yet–busy with college–but it’s fantastic so far. As for Nervous Conditions, this is another book for Women’s Lit. I haven’t actually started it yet, though. All I know is it’s about a woman in Africa who has to deal with colonization, similar to A Border Passage. I think on the syllabus it says I’ll have it finished this week, so we’ll see about that. I’m also hoping to finish Catcher in the Rye this week.

That’s it for this week! I promise I’ll write next weekend!

Jen

Leave a Reply

