Week 43: Results & Week 44: Goals

Look at me! I’m posting on time! I’m so proud of myself. So let’s just get down to business, okay? This week I finished Nervous Conditions by Tsitsi Dangarembga and read half of Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger. I didn’t really enjoy reading Nervous Conditions, mainly because I was forced to read it for a course. The story was pretty interesting, though. It takes place in Africa and is about the evils of colonization. Main themes include women’s roles in society/family, cultural differences, and freedom/entrapment. If I hadn’t just read A Border Passage by Leila Ahmed–which dealt with very similar issues in Egypt–I feel like I would have enjoyed this book more. I gave it three stars on Goodreads.

As for Catcher, I am absolutely in LOVE. Holden Caulfield is such a snarky asshole, and he is absolutely perfect. Like I said earlier, I’m about halfway through the book so I can’t give you an accurate description of the book or my review yet. I’ll just say this: based on what I’ve read so far, I’d recommend this book strongly to everyone.

This week is Halloween! I’m going to be dressing up as a crazy cat lady–and by “dressing up” I simply mean physically express my true self. Mostly I’m doing this to get $2 burritos at Chipotle. Mmm Chipotle. In celebration of my favorite holiday, I’m going to read Dracula by Bram Stoker! Can you believe I’ve never read this book before?

Image

And look at this beautiful copy! “With an Essential Guide to the Undead” by Vintage Books.

I just found out that my Monday and Tuesday classes are cancelled due to a hurricane hitting my area, so hopefully I’ll be able to spend it reading and writing. Also, Nanowrimo 2012 starts this Thursday! I have to prepare! I’m so nervous. Hopefully I’ll be able to bang something out. Anyone else attempting Nano? Add me as a writing buddy: black_bird.

 

Leave a Reply

